Student Board Elections


Student board directors are currently enrolled students at the University of Sydney and ACCESS members who want to make a difference. 

Collectively, student board directors are responsible for governing the USU, developing and reviewing policies, improving programs, events and services, creating new spaces and managing the USU’s finances. 

Our student Board is made up of 14 directors: 11 who are current students and ACCESS members elected by their peers, 2 who are appointed by the University Senate, and the Immediate Past President of the Board.

Board Directors are elected in May each year, and serve a 2-year term, with roughly half the board ending their terms each year (5 in even numbered years, 6 in odd numbered years).

Eastern Avenue and other parts of the University become a flurry of colour and campaigning as prospective Board candidates promote their ideas and policies to improve student life.

Run for Board
Running for board is easy. You just need to be an ACCESS member and take the first step and nominate. We'll provide guidance along the way. Remember every candidate is eligible for a $500 election grant. Nominations have now closed.

Meet your 2017 Election Candidates

2017 Election offical results
Hengjie Sun, Jacob Masina, Claudia Gulbransen-Diaz, Liliana Tai, Adam Torres (Ursino) and Zhixian Wang.

Declaration of the Provisional Results
These results will not be finalised until all or any complaints or appeals are finalised in accordance with USU Regulations 8.12, 8.13 and 8.14.
Ranked by order of victory the Provisional Results are:  Hengjie Sun, Jacob Masina, Claudia Gulbransen-Diaz, Liliana Tai, Adam Torres (Ursino) and Zhixian Wang. 


Mon 20 March 10am Nominations open N/A
Mon 27 March 1pm Election Information Session Manning Meeting Room 1
Mon 27 March 1:30pm Wom*n's Mentoring Session Manning Meeting Room 1
Mon 10 April 2pm Nominations close  
Tues 11 April 4pm Compulsory Candidate Ethics Training Holme Sutherland Room
Sat 6 May 12.01am Social media campaigning can begin  See regulations for rules
Mon 8 May N/A
Physical campaigning can begin
See regulations for rules
Tues 9 May 12:45 Election Soapbox Manning Bar
Mon 15 May  10am-4pm Pre-polling/ Absentee voting opens ACCESS Desk and ISL
Tues 16 May 11am-3pm  SCA/ CON/ Mallet St Voting Day SCA/CON/Mallet St 
4pm  Pre Polling / absentee  voting closes ACCESS Desk and ISL
Wed 17 May 7:30am - 6.30pm    ELECTION DAY!     All over campus
6:30pm       Election Night Party        Manning Bar                                                                                    

Official Notice of Election 2017
Candidate Handbook
Statutory Declaration 2017
Keep an eye out for regular updates on our Facebook page